What Am I Doing?

Good Morning –

Okay…. Well, this is it. My first real post. I’m nervous.

“What is this?”, One might ask. To be perfectly honest, I couldn’t give you a more informative answer than the next guy. What I can say is that I will be attempting to write about writing, as it is something, if anything, that I feel I can talk about. It also happens to allow me to trash whoever wrote something I don’t like. That could be fun.

I have thought long and hard about what maintaining a blog could mean. Really truly, I run the risk of talking to myself, writing in first person just for my own self to read later on. It’s true that there are countless unseen blogs all over the place, ranging from this topic to that. In a way, although massively frightening, it can be empowering. Because when the time comes, and you’re finally tasting success, you know that you overcame what a bunch of people couldn’t. That really does say something.

In an ideal world, it would be simple. One would have absolutely no trouble in being a instant, laughably famous hit. Every idea would be revolutionary. You would have 700 million followers, major advertisers, political/cultural influence. Not a single person would hate you. Ha. What a concept.

Alas, in an ideal world I wouldn’t learn anything. Nobody would. Without challenges, obstacles or impediments, nothing would make us think, grow or evolve as people. So the more I think about it, the more I realize that although with all the pain and suffering in our world, there’s a reason why the universe did not manifest a “perfect” place. I’m not necessarily trying to obscure how awful life can be sometimes; I’m merely focusing on the fact that it’s pretty awesome that we’re all learning.

I have to remember, though, that I am saying this from a First World position. I don’t think many homeless people happen to be sitting down with mac book pros, vaguely thinking about what to eat for lunch, on a bed in a warm house. In a strange way, what I take for granted would be their “perfect” place.

Anyway, back to the point: I accept that I will have challenges to face during my time with this blog. For those of you that may end up following me, thank you and take it easy on me. I’m trying to provide entertainment for you. Honest entertainment, not media crap.

I say fine if no one reads a words I write. This is about my own journey as a writer, and if no one cares, what can I do? I’ll write about it. For myself to read.

Well that’s pretty much it for my first day on the job. If you have absolutely anything to say about what I have just written, please do comment. The button is so conveniently placed right beneath my words. It would be a complete lie if someone didn’t have some sort of criticism. After all, I’m not living in a perfect place. 🙂

Okay that’s it, see ya,

-mrprose

3 thoughts on “What Am I Doing?

  1. Wow to say the least. Mrprose, you constantly surprise me in my day to day world. Whether its on a singular basis or a constant basis. You all ways find a way to shock me with what the human mind can do if it is given the determination you have. This blog none the less has risen the bar of what you have shown you can do. For it is not the creation of a blog that leaves me in awe. It is the Potential it has with a writer like you at the helm. So I congratulate you with not just this blog, but everything. You Mrprose have shown me a level of excellence I have never seen nor will see on anybody of our age.

    And Now I must end this comment. I will end on a question, a muse of sorts.
    Is the act writing in our modern world on a downfall? Well really the passion of writing. Are we more inclined or even encouraged today to write cliche or hollow material to appeal to mass audiences?

    You may answer or reply anyway you want

    – Joe E.

    • Firstly, thank you. I hear compliments thrown from person to person all the time, and they have that hollowness you mentioned, but this was a true compliment that I will remember. Thank you, sincerely.

      Your question is an interesting one… One that I will most likely now blog about in the very near future, thanks to you. What I will say at the moment, though, is that I think within everything, there is a degree for “counterfeit” material. This can be applied to modern pop music, has been in past cases as well, for example rock ‘n roll was considered stuff of poison for the new generation, a few decades ago.

      I think you have hit upon something serious, though. I do not believe writing will leave, it is far too ingrained within human beings. We literally think in words. I think the issue is the passion to write something new and creative and explore what hasn’t been done. As you will read in my latest post, I talk about how there can be a serious lack of interest in regard to literature. At first I thought it was because of modern advances – video games, television, the internet. But now what I think is that many people just haven’t ever been exposed enough. That’s why this is here.

      I hope that answered your question…. and you’re my first commentator, congrats!
      -mrprose

Leave a Reply

