Stereotypes

Hello Everyone,

Tuesday morning, we’re approaching the half-way mark for the week.

This morning, my thoughts are directed towards the stereotypes that have infected our world.

In truth, this is a rather common occurrence. Ever since my mind has opened up on the subject of stereotypes, my thoughts have been directed to the topic quite a bit. I think it has to do with the fact that I used to, and still am unconsciously referencing and similarly using those false perceptions to mold my view of the world.

Those stereotypes are one of the reasons why many of us cannot open our minds more. It is no simple task to remove those false perceptions from one’s mind – our entire society, and everything in it is built from the ground up, with those false ideas. We cling onto these ideas, and thus they prevent us from moving forward.

I say ‘we’ because I am very guilty of living with stereotypes as much as anyone. I challenge what I used to take for granted far more in recent times, but that doesn’t stop me from slipping into the mindset of categorizing others into inaccurate groups and sometimes limiting what they can be to me.

The thing about stereotypes is that they are usually incorrect, when labelled onto a random person. Most people are far too complicated and with enough attributes as to be “more” than the stereotype.

How does this go hand in hand with writing? It has everything to do with it, actually.

Firstly, stereotypes live in the mind just as words do. That means that most everything that comes from the mind will be tinted with the views that one holds. That could mean actions, treating someone unfairly, or that could mean words, in the form of how one speaks to another, write to/about another, or even how one thinks about another (thoughts are words, remember). So as long you inexplicably have something against a certain kind of person, your very words will be slanted against them.

This leads me to another point. Who are authors or journalists, or even bloggers like me, to allow these stereotypes to conduct their work for others to see and in turn, allow for a false view on a matter?

For one, in the past, during times of obvious prejudice, for example in the sixties against Blacks/African Americans. They never did anything to incur the abuse that they received. Explain that to me.

That is, after all, where all these stereotypes begin, and again where corruption crops up – from people’s words. The Media is full of writers that are paid, and often enjoy, seeing the “bad” in people. Because what they write is widely read, and often seen as truth on this matter or that, so are the prejudice views against groups of people, or organizations and the like.

In my opinion, these people should be the first to open their minds, as they are at the forefront, and partial-creators, of a society that is ready/in desperate need of moving to the next level of consciousness.

So what I say to you today is for you to pay special attention to where these unjust assumptions of anything are made, and how many of them have creeped up into your life.

To end on a slightly lighter note, I got 116 views yesterday… thank you guys so much, I was not expecting the support that I got. Don’t forget to like on facebook, follow me on twitter, and share with other people!

That’s that.

-mrprose

9 thoughts on “Stereotypes

  1. You make a common point but I think that rather than get rid of stereotypes, we need to use them to our advantage because stereotpes are one of our surest forms of seeing how society views the world. I agree that there is a next level of conciousness we should reach for but I think this is found not by moving away from stereotypes but towards them so that we can use them to see through the world’s eyes.
    Journalists and writers who write about the bad in people have a right to do so just because they can. The fact that they have the strength to share their work gives them power to create sterotypes. Unfortunately, I think TV does a much better job with this than writing but even so, being one of these writers like yourself gives you the power to shape society. It would be impossible to write about the good in people versus the bad though because no one would listen. I believe this puts the writers above society, not below. So as a small portion of society, rather than criticize writers/stereotypes in order to support the rest of society/ the ones being stereotyped, can we not ourselves come above all of the mess by gaining the next level of conciousness to use stereotypes to our advantage?

    • I’m sorry, but I disagree with that point a little bit. Firstly, I don’t think it’s possible to move towards or away from a stereotype without first having awareness about where you are, and where you want to go. The other things is that one may use looking through a stereotype to gain insight on how a great many people view the world, but that would require a greater level of consciousness. And at the present, I’m only focusing on the first step, moving on.

      As for journalists rights’, yes you are right, they can do whatever they want, and in fact they do. To the point of abusing that right. But that does not necessarily show strength, at least to me, as I’ve seen groups of journalists write negatively about something in a politically correct way, and that is solely for the purpose of stirring up attention for their work. “Hype” is similar in that it alters the view of something for people, for the sake of publicity, which translates into money.

      I do not doubt that there are some incredibly courageous and insightful journalists out there in the world. But those that live by jumping onto the bandwagon of negativity/hype about something do not strike me as the courageous journalists. Instead, I see them as stereotypes and the like to give an unrealistic assessment of the world.

      • Touching on the journalist’s point of view, it may not show strength, but it still puts them above because it shows humanities weakness. I don’t think it is an abuse no matter how far they take it because if humanity is shaping themselves to their point of view, who’s fault is it really? There’s nothing wrong with stirring up attention or writing negatively either. I’m not saying there’s anything right, but this goes to my theory of right/wrong relativity because nothing is really right or wrong in the world, it is only what the world perceives right and wrong to be. THAT is what influential writers are doing though, shaping the world’s right and wrong. My final point is that to say what these writers write is wrong, does that not stereotype them?

      • Well, I actually do think that slipping into the thinking of a stereotype displays a lack of awareness because stereotypes are enforced in society, and taking that and just accepting it without any questions does not seem to me like a level above. The other thing is that there is a difference between humanities weaknesses, and what journalists often say – honestly, how can we understand the extent of the weaknesses at all, and if they even are weaknesses. The stereotype about that is that they journalists of honestly whoever is telling their view is always correct. And that to me, is far from the case.

  2. Going back to the first point in your counter-argument, and maybe I’m wrong, but I think it takes no higher level of conciousness to move on from stereotypes than to move towards them. Most people have grown up with parents or other influences digging into their brains to associate stereotypes with bad. If not, you should be able to skip this step all together to realize that stereotypes aren’t so bad, if you can see through them. Even if we disagree on the specifics of when this level is achieved though, I still think it is better to not sterotype stereotypes as bad, but to realize that they may be good.

  3. Although I Mostly agree with what you’re saying, you’re wrong when you say stereotypes are “mostly untrue.” How would the majority of society stereotype without there being some truth behind them? We use stereotypes to fill in the gaps of our knowledge. Most everyday perceptions are riddled with gaps, and without stereotyping, one would be overwhelmed. Every person, place, and thing would have to be treated as a new experience in order not to stereotype. However, stereotypes often breed hatred and contempt between people. But in the end, our brains are wired to form them and act upon them.

    • You are right when you say that stereotypes have a truth to them. What I meant by “mostly untrue” is that there are very few people that entirely fit into the image of a stereotype. By that I mean that when you think of say “American” whether conscious or subconscious, there is a certain set of opinions/judgements that immediately come to mind, when in fact, there is no way that all Americans fit those views completely.

Leave a Reply

