Our Very Existence Is A Balance

Hello and welcome to another Tuesday,

Another Tuesday. Time always seems to move faster than I would like it to.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot about the soul and what it is. I’m sure some of you may not believe it exists. Although there really isn’t much concrete proof to back up that claim, I believe I have a soul because it feels right to me. There has to be something, and the soul is considered to have connection with a higher intelligence, and some think one can channel that to be inspiration or create art, all from that higher source, that “energy”, if you will. I believe I’ve done that before. It’s been said that many famous artists have done the same, too.

What is the soul? That’s hard to define, and dependent on where you’re getting a definition from. If you look at it spiritually, some would say that it is your true self, your highest and purest form of existence. In dictionary.com, it’s defined as:

The principle of life, feeling, thought, and action in humans, regarded as a distinct entity separate from the body, and commonly held to be separable in existence from the body; the spiritual part of humans as distinct from the physical part.

I don’t think we should get caught up on the definitions, though. It’s the essence of it that holds what I’m going at.

Then you look at what we are, and basically put, we’re a moving, thinking, fleshy organism. I like to think of our bodies as the vehicles that transport our souls on Earth. The material world. Without our little bodies, we don’t really have another way to be on Earth (unless you believe in ghosts or spirits).

This seems the ultimate irony to me. Yes, I know that the body is capable of an incredible amount of different functions. Complicated functions. The soul brings something entirely new. Without that spark of life, the body is just an empty shell that is left behind at death. I would even say that many of the brain functions, though still not entirely understood, would not even be possible without the soul and the connection that we have to that higher intelligence. I know that may sound ridiculous, but we’re not the equivalent of moving rocks. I refuse to accept that. We’re at completely different levels of consciousness.

So the irony is this: you take a couple billion atoms that are supposedly 99.999999% nothingness/emptiness, and basically the brilliance of the soul resides somewhere within the matter and space that creates us human beings. I find the juxtaposition so incredibly meaningful. Why is this the case?

I believe that it’s to remind us of humility and teach us what it’s like to be weak at times.

The Balance of Our Existence

The Balance of Our Existence (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But I also think it’s a reminder to me that physicality isn’t everything, and just because I’m living in a physical world doesn’t mean I have no connection with the mental, or astral planes of existence.

Even with the irony, there is a level of balance that makes a kind of sense in all of this. You cannot be on Earth with only awareness, and no matter/body to hold you, and with only a body, one wouldn’t have the awareness to truly be on Earth.

What do you think?

–mrprose

11 thoughts on “Our Very Existence Is A Balance

  1. Woah. That just made me question my whole existence.
    The facts are, no matter what religion you are (including athiest), there is SOMETHING that binds us all together. Why do we all look the same, while being different? We all are made of the same substances and we all have blood moving through us, except for, you know, vamipres, but they apparently don’t have a soul.
    But maybe everyone has a different kind of soul. Playful, serious, intellectual, curious, maybe our souls are just like us- made of the same materials, but different in ways that are easy to explain but hard to see. Like animals- we are obviously not the same as dolphins, but we have some of the same characteristics.
    Everything is connected somehow.

    • Or maybe we have all of those attributes. But you are right on your observation that we’re here for some reason. And I think we need to explore that more.

  2. Pingback: So busy seeking enlightenment, that I forgot I was human….. | mindscapes and galactic travels

  3. Pingback: Channeled art « Wed-Gie

  4. Pingback: Spirit « Wed-Gie

  5. I applaud you for thinking seriously about these issues and trying to find answers. However, you seem to feel that you can determine truth solely on the basis of what feels right or what seems most logical. Just thinking something is true doesn’t make it true. Some things feel right but are very wrong. I believe we do have a soul, an immaterial part of us that makes us who we are. I believe that on the authority of the Bible. The Bible has lots of answers to questions you are searching out and it is God talking to us. God is truth and gives us the straight story on issues like this. If you can’t trust God, who can you trust?

    • I would just like to say that the bible was written by people, and although their intentions were noble, and their may be some truths within the words, I would not base my life around it. I do not determine truth at all by feeling alone, although I do believe feeling plays a major role in our lives (being in touch/connected with the Earth, life, our one selves, etc.).

      Now when you say that some things feel right but are very wrong, are you judging the wrongness by the bible, a book written over 1,000 years ago? Or are you deciding for yourself? There is major difference between the two.

      Finally, I trust in God. But this God is nothing like the bible says He is. The God I believe is the universe, life itself. God lives within me as I live within God. So I trust God, but more importantly, I’m learning to trust in myself.

  6. Pingback: Visionary Art | By Dee

Leave a Reply

