“Impossibilities”

Hello,

Ah well, here we are again, in the blogosphere. I must say, you readers are a quiet bunch….

You know, I’ve been thinking where this blog is going to go. I feel as though this blog will reflect where I go in my life, so I would naturally assume that this blog will (hopefully) reach higher levels of thinkings and understandings of the world/life. The difficult thing about that is that it’s hard to measure such an abstract thing (actually, I would say it’s impossible to do so non-subjectively).

I believe in goals set to measure progress, to give a sort of path to lead. Of course goals can be too heavily relied upon, but all the same, it’s a useful tool humans have learned to use.

This is why I have decided to set the goal for myself to get 1,000,000 views on this blog. Which is borderline impossible, because at the rate I’m going, it’s going to take me over 83 years. 🙂

There are two things for me to consider with that gargantuan number in mind: 1. Looking at an imposing number like that can absolutely destroy my self-belief in achieving such a thing. 2. Just like anything else, it’s not about the numbers. I can be the most consistent person in the world if I learn to truly channel as I write. Quality beats quantity in art every time.

But here’s the thing – there’s something beautiful about taking on such a challenge. Just seeing how far you can take yourself… possibly all the way to the end. It’s these challenges that shape who we are in the long run. A lack of pushing one’s self will leave one wondering what they’re even capable of. Because as soon as you step out of your comfort zone, you open yourself up to experience.

Mount Everest

Simply a challenge to be thrown into (Photo credit: freekstreet)

Think of the people that have taken on the challenge of, some of which succeeding in, climbing Mount Everest. Yes it may be the most generic example, but it shows what taking on challenges can and often does culminate to in terms of triumph.

This is something some celebrities use. I’m talking about activists and the like. Achieve something grand, and suddenly you can use that as a platform for whatever is beyond. You get to a point where you’re building momentum upwards.

It doesn’t matter if I don’t make it. Or if I don’t make half-way. Or a tenth of the way. What matters is that I tried, and I gave it that it my all. I threw myself into growing as person, into learning about myself and others. I didn’t allow the size of anything faze me. Adopting that attitude, and practicing it, leads to a life of fearlessness, a life of “getting out there” and “going for it”. That’s a life worth living.

And a life I’m going to live.

–mrprose

Leave a Reply

