Accepting Weakness

Hello again,

Acceptance has been a major theme in my blog. Not coincidentally, I am facing challenges with acceptance in my life. I feel as though there is still so much about it that we have to learn about. I see the gaps in my acceptance for others that I’m jealous or angry at, at myself when I think I’ve made a mistake. At the world when things get rough. We all face similar issues all the time, and it’s honest to say that we all have quite a bit to learn.

Something I haven’t yet explicitly spoken about is accepting weakness. It’s something that naturally is frowned upon or avoided, but is as important as accepting anything else, sometimes even more so. And weakness doesn’t have to be looked at with negativity.

ego

I think it’s safe to say that your ego doesn’t like your weakness (Photo credit: celine nadeau)

Not many of us like admitting or even acknowledging our weaknesses. They’re nothing to be proud about (ego), make us appear/feel like we are less than we imagine ourselves to be, or wish we are (ego), and possibly worst of all, they are a huge challenge in the road to ‘success’. But they exist, as a part of each and every one of us.

Weakness is a very subjective term and is interpreted completely differently by each person. A weakness is much of what I just described – a part of yourself that you feel is underdeveloped (your ability to play tennis, your ability to do well in math), or lower than standards. Those standards could be society’s (certain traits that are encouraged, etc.), your family’s/friends’ (your grades, your income), or your very own, imposed by only yourself (your skill in impressing others, being able to meditate, etc.). So with individual variety like that, a weakness for one could be considered to be a strength for another – the perspectives we all have vary quite a bit.

It’s hard to look at yourself and say, “Okay, I’m not perfect, I can be wrong, I do make mistakes, many mistakes, and I have weaknesses.” It’s not that we lie to ourselves per say, but rather just avoid the truth of it, never shine it under a bright light. I know for myself that I struggle to admit to myself when I’m not ‘good’ at something, and try to move on/change that part of myself.

When that is done, which it is, and quite often, you can never look at what a weakness really is and truly understand it. It doesn’t have to be a bad thing at all. In fact, I try to view ‘weakness’ like I view mistakes – room to improve. Obviously, it’s easier said than done, especially for someone like myself that gets stuck on pride. But there is a positive way to view everything, and eventually I hope view weakness that way.

Admitting you’re not good at something, or even really bad at it, does not mean at all that you are giving up. This is a very common misconception. Rather, you’re building the habit of honestly communicating with yourself (sounds silly, but it’s actually really important).

I believe that you’re born with a few talents, yes, but for the most part, you have to earn/work for the skills that you end up living with. If you openly admit your weaknesses to yourself, you are more capable of looking at them and understanding them for what they are – one of the best ways to grow. In fact, it’s healthier to live that way. Nothing to hide from yourself or anyone.

Think on that,

–mrprose

11 thoughts on “Accepting Weakness

  1. I concur. You often see people just making excuses for what they perceive as a failure, and in doing so, neither ameliorating nor accepting their weaknesses. As you say, it’s a healthier mindset to accept that you’re bad at something, and then decide if it really matters to you or not.

  2. Pingback: Maslow : I Accept | listentomethunder

  3. Pingback: “weakness” is not a dirty word « LYNN DAUE —

  4. Pingback: “weakness” is not a dirty word | Lynn Daue

Leave a Reply

