Friday Question: Fate or Freewill?

Hello again,

So it’s Friday, and I’ve been blogging now for 11 weeks, and written 71 articles/pieces/poems of some sort. That may not seem like a long time to some of you (I know that careers can and do go on for decades), but it’s a huge amount of time for me. Maybe it all has such an impact because the journey has been difficult and I’ve discovered so much. Despite the fact that I’ve missed a few days here and there, I think that keeping that fact in mind is a great way to positive and a little more confident.

The reason why I’m saying this, though, is because I think it’s time I introduce a new aspect to my blog. I’ve decided that every Friday (or at least the one’s that I get to), I’m going to pose a question for anyone to answer in any manner they like. It could be anything from me asking for your thoughts on some current event, to an inquiry on how you, the readers, view some aspect of life.

I’m encouraging anyone and everyone to comment and put in their opinions on whatever the subject may be. I love to hear all views to the questions I ask. In return, I’ll write a response piece, maybe two, where I talk about my own perspective/perspectives on what I asked about. Who knows, you might see me taking bits of your opinion to add to my articles.

Question Mark Graffiti

What do you think? (Photo credit: Bilal Kamoon)

So without further ado, my question of the day: Fate, or freewill? Which one exists? Or do they both? I think it’s a huge topic to consider in the scheme of our existence. You have to wonder why we’re here, if we’re just the pieces to some gigantic game, or if our purpose is to make something happen, from our struggles and mistakes. Particularly when you question how much your efforts are worth, if they really do mean something, or if fate is already set in place and nothing is really in your control.

I’ll be back with my thoughts soon. In the meantime… what do you think?

–mrprose

156 thoughts on “Friday Question: Fate or Freewill?

  1. Neither. Fate is just us interpreting statistically normal clusters of events. And the more we learn about the brain and genetics the more tenuous the notion of Free Will becomes. Why are we here? Because we are here. But the great news is we can choose our own reasons for being here and,if we take full responsibility for our actions, the world will be Paradise.

  2. I am of the belief that fate determines the big and important events (catastrophes, times of birth and death by old age, etc.) but that it is our own free will which decide the truly important things, the value of our lives, the stories left behind, the exact circumstances surrounding the events of fate. If you think of it like a book’s story line, fate throws in major plot points and the climax, we fill in the rest, which is what gives those major points true meaning.

    • This is a view that is more common than I previously thought, but it’s a powerful view nonetheless. I think you might enjoy reading other comments made about the same thing.

  3. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « Mischievious Mum

Leave a Reply

