Don’t Take Life Too Seriously

Hello again,

I realized something profound today. Something that will shift my view on life as I move forward. Something I thought I knew, but didn’t actually completely understand.

We really don’t have to take life so seriously.

Now, of course, there are many moody, or serious subjects and events in life that are unavoidable. Darker emotions need to be faced at some point, and one would be in denial if they were always running from this aspect of life. They are a part of living as a human being, and thus should be confronted like anything and everything else.

But at the same time, I am one of many guilty of taking things on with a grave intensity that isn’t always necessary, and that often sucks the humor and fun out of life.

"Amazing Laughter" sculpture by Yue ...

Hey, you can laugh a little if you want! (Photo credit: Matthew Grapengieser)

While having that attitude absolutely has it’s benefits (there are many things that are not laughing matters, and you can’t be productive if you aren’t focused and serious), it also has it’s drawbacks – often I don’t take out as much from a situation/experience when I’m so solemn. Sometimes life seems too thick, to dense. Unenjoyable, unhappy. This is how I view things when I deny myself the pleasures of lightheartedness – goofiness, laughing, horseplay, etc.

directions

What direction do you want to take? (Photo credit: thewhitestdogalive)

We attract certain things into our lives through the energy we have about ourselves. We shape our worlds through our thoughts and actions, which means you get to decide whether you want to live a serious or cheerful life… or a balance of both.

But I say this because often the beauty in life is particularly gripping when I am happy. When you are joyful, you see things differently. The world becomes a joyful place. And I want to have room for that joy in my world by not taking things so seriously all the time.

Just because life is difficult sometimes doesn’t mean it can’t ever be enjoyable. Keep that in mind next time you feel yourself sinking into your somber energy. You might find that relaxing and letting loose just a little goes quite a long way.

–mrprose

17 thoughts on “Don’t Take Life Too Seriously

  1. I love this, and as you liked y last post, you’re probably aware I am rather highly strung this evening, so thank you for this brilliant post πŸ™‚ I feel so much better, thank you πŸ™‚

  2. I can relate very deeply to this post. It’s an art to get down to the “nitty gritty” of life without losing one’s sense of humor. I’m still an apprentice despite practicing a lifetime at the art.

    • I love how you put it, and I completely agree. It’s not something you just “know”. You have to completely experience and discover what it’s like to lighten up a little bit, before incorporating it into your lifestyle. Good luck, and thanks for reading!

    • Haha, fantastic! Today was very rough for me, so I immediately had to call upon what I had just written… glad you incorporated my writing into your life. That is a bigger compliment than words can say.

  3. Despite being twice your age, I found myself drawn in by your writing. As other commentators have noted already you seem to posses a wisdom beyond your chronological years. I was quite similar at your age but didn’t have the same easy access to the internet, nor the tech savvy and courage, to blog my thoughts to the world. Good on you for doing so.

    Thanks for checking out my blog and liking one of my posts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

