Block One Emotion, And The Rest Suffer

I talk about emotion a lot. It could be because I’m exploring what exactly it is. I think people as a whole are beginning to explore emotion more too. And the exploration of something like that, something as powerful as the feelings that we feel, is enormous. It’s massive. It’s scary, for sure, but that’s because it’s still hidden in uncharted waters that are just waiting to be charted.

Emotion plays a central role in our lives, whether we choose to express it or compress it. I realize that much of my inspiration derives from my feelings. It’s just a major part of being human, of feeling and seeing life.

NO

It seems like sometimes nobody wants to hear you. They just want the pretty little, docile you. Well that’s not really you, and honestly, you shouldn’t listen to them. (Photo credit: nathangibbs)

As I’ve written about before, a lot of emotion is tabooed in modern society, because it isn’t safe and it certainly isn’t comfortable. How many of us are okay with open displays of grief or anger? Not many. But both anger and grief are a part of each and every one of us. When we deny that to ourselves, we deny ourselves from expression.

So as a result, we try to hide the feelings we don’t like within ourselves, and discourage displays of those feelings from others. If we can smile and laugh all the time, why ever not? Unfortunately, nobody can laugh and smile all the time. Not legitimately, at least.

The thing is, we don’t realize that all of our emotions are interconnected, and when one suffers, when one is plugged away rather than allowed the freedom to be released, the rest are affected. Somebody once told me that every part of the body is connected. It makes perfect sense, really – the muscles rely on the brain, the brain relies on the blood, the blood relies on the heart, etc. When you’re sick, the stability of your entire body is impacted. And I found it particularly interesting that oftentimes cancer for a certain part of the body ends up spreading to other parts and damages them as well. Being that I find so much interest in balances, it intrigues me that when even just one part of the system falls out of place, the rest are influenced negatively.

EMOTION

Emotion (Photo credit: Helen_Huynh)

It’s exactly the same way for emotion. You cannot express in one way if you suppress in another. Acceptance comes into play here – can you accept your feelings, even the uncomfortable/painful/difficult ones? If you can, the equilibrium is allowed a chance to survive. If you can’t, the equilibrium cannot be. It’s that simple.

And as I’ve said before, emotion can be everything sometimes. It’s what makes life so sweet, so exciting, so unpredictable. For the most part, it’s of our control. Emotion to me is a teacher on how to live moving with the flow rather than against it.

All emotion is equal, important, and felt for a reason. Emotion has it’s time and place, certainly, but it should never be pushed too far aside, because when even one emotion is suppressed, all of the rest suffer.

–mrprose

31 thoughts on “Block One Emotion, And The Rest Suffer

  1. I loved this insight into emotions. I am an emotional being and, though I write fantasy, I come at it from an emotional point of view. To me it makes the characters seem more real and have a depth to them they might not otherwise have.

    I once thought it would help if I didn’t feel so much or feel it so deeply. Now I’m glad I do as it lets me see the world in a cacophony of colors and lets me tap into my creative well.

    • Yes, never try to dim the lights that you see. They are blessings, and they will teach you if you listen to they light (a bit of an extreme metaphor, but I think you get my drift).

  2. What do you think about the idea that when we suppress one emotion, it can cause other emotions to become more intense? Like it is with our senses. A man that is blind, can not see but they say that other senses can become even better. I think that this sometimes happens when we suppress certain emotions.

  3. I think that’s a reasonable and logical to look at emotions. It’s difficult to really stay in tune with all your emotions all of the time. Especially the negative emotions like sadness, or anger. It’s definitely something that we should all strive for – the balance and being in tune. It requires a little introspection and a lot of patience but I believe we can all get to that place.

  4. Emotions are tricky…Sometimes, or many times, certain emotions are born out of our pride or selfishness or fear. If we listen to those emotions, we end up doing some harmful things (to ourselves or to others). Suppressing certain emotions doesn’t always affect everything else in a negative manner…sometimes very good things come out of suppressing an emotion. You’re right though in saying everything is interconnected. And I think all emotion does get expressed…though some might be more indirect from how the initial burst of emotion might dictate. e.g. I get angry…and go for a run to clear my thoughts instead of breaking/hitting something/someone. While pounding the pavement, I may realize my anger came out of not getting my selfish way…so then I let it go and the energy behind the anger is also gone into the running. The hard part may be in discerning how to express emotion in a healthy and positive manner. I personally tell myself that emotions, while valid, aren’t always right…and are always changing/fleeting. So I never act on emotion alone.

    • You’re right, and I think I should clarify. I think those emotions born from other emotions have a deeper root, and it’s the root we should look at. Also, running out the anger is not suppressing the anger at all. You show a perfect example of feeling, listening, and also giving yourself time to calm down and think. To me, that is expression, not suppression.

  5. I loved this post… thank-you for sharing. I couldn’t agree more by the way. We need to be in touch with all of our emotions even/especially the uncomfortable ones. But it would nice if we could be all smiles and sunshine all the time…

  6. I believe that emotions are a response to something… For example: (1) I see a blue sky with soft white clouds, a breeze touches my cheek, the wind stirs the branches of the tree and I am transported to another time and place where such a memory brought peace so I am again filled with peace – but now also longing for that other place. I accept that moment and allow myself to reflect, grieve, laugh or cry… (2) I hear children playing next door and I become annoyed because they have intruded on my space with their noise… but here as Reigh points out the correct response is that my mind steps in and I force the rising annoyance which can so easily become anger and yelling “shut up!” to reflect on my own childhood and know that they are doing what children should do – play outside. I block the anger, I force that emotion back down… and the rest does not suffer. The children do not suffer… and my neighbors do not have to call the police.

    I have found that emotions are a powerful force that can be dammed or redirected without consequence to the rest of the body. They can also be physically or mentally draining.

    I think the trick with emotions is to never act on them; they are a tool, a guide to right action.

    • I agree partly. Notice that my piece isn’t called “act on your emotions always, and immediately.” All I say is to feel the emotion, acknowledge it. Don’t push it down, feel it. You do not have to act on that emotion, perhaps the anger you have at the children. But you can still feel it.

      Thanks for reading, and I totally get where you are coming from. I hope I clarified though.

      • Oh, I get where you are coming from… I just wanted to share another perspective. I liked reading your essays and plan to continue on reading. While I don’t always agree with your POV, I do like the challenge you present that makes me think and occasionally re-think an ideal. Keep up the good work, Mr.Prose!

      • You know what, I don’t want you to agree with everything I say. Then we can’t have an engaging debate! I hope you continue to share your views.

  7. Reblogged this on I Enjoy Being a Girl and commented:
    Most people’s problem is that they think, that suppressing an emotion is the same as having self-control. this is a very terrible misconception. This post talks about one of the most important effects suppressing our emotions can cause. This in turn is just the next domino in line for complete internal destruction.
    I think I feel another blog post of my own coming on. ^_^

  8. I clap my hands for this post, you kind of put words to my observations too:

    “(Emotion) is still hidden in uncharted waters that are just waiting to be charted.”

    “As I’ve written about before, a lot of emotion is tabooed in modern society, because it isn’t safe and it certainly isn’t comfortable.”

    “So as a result, we try to hide the feelings we don’t like within ourselves, and discourage displays of those feelings from others. (…)Unfortunately, nobody can laugh and smile all the time. Not legitimately, at least.”

    “The thing is, we don’t realize that all of our emotions are interconnected, and when one suffers, when one is plugged away rather than allowed the freedom to be released, the rest are affected”

    • I’m floored by what you said about me, and that you did this. Words cannot describe how appreciative I feel for you doing this for me. It really, really means a lot. Thank you!

      • You see, I gave you back what you give. I said what I said about you because this It is the plain truth.
        For sure, nowadays many are rather stingy and self-absorbed – they kind of get scared and troubled by another´s talent and feel therefore menaced, giving nothing real in return. I, for one, whenever I see quality, genuine and good work I honor it – as I wrote in my latest posts, I am not trying to be “special”, I want to participate in a “higher good”.

        Indeedd, we grow when we receive true and honest appreciation for the good work.

      • And as I recently described, I feel like I’m growing through all the support that I have. I can’t describe to you what this is doing for me. It’s not feeding my ego so much (anymore) as it is helping remind me that I’m not alone.

      • I’d rather not give out my name to stay anonymous. Perhaps eventually I will share it, but from experience I’ve learned that people can learn a lot about you with just your name and the internet.

  9. You bring up a lot of points to think about. One thing that made me think a lot was when you were referring to “taboo”emotions. You wrote:

    “So as a result, we try to hide the feelings we don’t like within ourselves, and discourage displays of those feelings from others.”

    I agree with you that most people do this, and I think you are right to warn against suppressing this type of emotion. I think certain emotions (like anger) help guide us to discover our boundaries with others. If we acknowledge the emotions and process them and act on them in an appropriate way, we are able to give people feedback about how they may or may not act toward us. If we ignore it and suppress it, we never give this feedback, and others continue to treat us in ways that cause negative emotions. This just breeds unhappiness. When people know someone else’s boundaries, they usually will act within those boundaries, and relationships are strengthened and everyone is happier for it.

Leave a Reply

