Time Is Slipping

Time is slipping, yet again,

The harder I grip, the quicker it bends,

Before I know it, my time is done,

And all will return to where it had begun,

 

There is a pit in my stomach,

Every night as I sleep, it grows,

I know deep down my life will end,

And I won’t learn all that I want to know,

 

So I must hurry,

I must rush with all my might,

For if I don’t,

How will I discover life’s delights?

 

And yet, the rushing and scrambling,

Won’t help me find a thing,

Because it’s with patience and quiet,

That I will find everything,

 

Time isn’t real,

It’s simply a tracker for what transpires,

How could you possibly think,

That one day your soul could expire?

 

The brightness of this brilliant idea,

Eventually darkens our hearts,

This lie will leave you squirming and twisting,

A lie that’s ever so convincing,

 

–mrprose

 

10 thoughts on “Time Is Slipping

  1. I am angry at life for stealing my time …for my time is precious, and so damned limited…and the constraints of life dont allow me to enjoy my time as i wish. I could well relate to this piece.

    I like this; keep writing!

  2. It is a real talent to be able to put a persons feelings into words when you don’t even know that person. Time is merely a word created by man rather than a guideline to live life by.

Leave a Reply

