Crushing Me

It crushes me,

With it’s death-binding grip,

I want to be free,

I want to breathe,

But in moments like these,

It’s clasp won’t cease to squeeze,

 

It crushes me,

A tower high in the sky,

Standing far above my head,

No matter how hard I try,

Inescapable,

 

It crushes me,

How my own expectations,

Are impossible, unattainable,

They manifest my limitations,

With force I push forward,

I must reach my destination!

And it’s with those words,

That I run into more frustration,

 

It is my own narrowed mind,

My own greedy ego,

That generates my confinement,

For I am my own greatest foe.

30 thoughts on “Crushing Me

  1. If this poem surrendered, what would it give up and to what would it give it up?
    Trying to climb back out of the struggle in the world of these words… I think Ill just let go…

      • Poems are poems. there is no disagreeing. : )
        Wondering, to understand.
        It feels, and poems are about feeling, like a trap. I was asking the poem. What would it take to get out of this poem trap….

        I did a thing once where we wrote poems about our biggest problem in life. then when we talked it through…like I was doing, we came up with an escape plan and wrote a poem about that.
        The two poems are secret weapons.
        I’m prepared for my weakness attack.
        I have the counter attack memorized. : )
        You poem feels like a trap.
        Provoked me asking. Whats the secret weapon?

      • I’m not sure yet. That sounds very interesting, I think I might do that. But instead of a counter-attack or escape plan, I just want to be able to stand up to my issues, feel them and move beyond them. You got me thinking… thank you!

  2. I really like this poem and it’s flow. The use of words is really good as well — especially the word “inescapable”, such a good word!

    And I generally just think it’s great! I really like the last paragraph as well and how you say that we ourselves are our own greatest foe — how true! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I can so relate to this. I’m often trapped by my own thoughts by putting myself down all the time. I feel so worthless… I think the best thing I can do for myself is avoid depressing music. But, of course, often that doesn’t work :/
    Great poem! I love the line “Its clasp won’t cease to squeeze.”

Leave a Reply

