Admitting Your Mistakes

Hello again!

So before I begin, it’s a little update from the Deep Thinkings HQ. Inspired by my last piece, I’ve decided to take a new approach to blogging. Although I will still try to write everyday, no longer will I be motivated by the success of what I write will bring me, and instead, will use only my inspiration and love of writing and discovery. This means I may write slightly less often, but I hope my writing is as inspiration as always.

Anyway, enough of that. Onto my inspiration, my deep thinking that struck me today:

It’s to admit that sometimes you’re wrong. I suppose that’s a pretty straightforward claim, but what I’m going at is a little deeper than the typical interpretation.

Firstly, it’s obvious that no human being on the planet is always right, all the time. To think that that even might be the case is absolutely ridiculous and untrue. I think we can all agree on that point.

But truly admitting one’s own mistakes is a completely different matter, and something we all have much space to improve on. It hit me today that even when we’re “acknowledging” our errors, we’re not really. We automatically dodge or avoid the truth. I do, you do, often times without meaning to.

Just as an example scenario, say I take orders from my boss and proceed to completely screw up what I’m supposed to do. I most likely will find someone or something to blame. At the very least, I’ll think it’s someone else’s fault, while “admitting” it was mine. It wasn’t me! All of a sudden, I’m avoiding the truth that it was, in fact, my fault, my mistake.

These things we do consciously or not, a lot, if not most of the time. It’s different for every person, but as a whole, it’s difficult to take the blame when you’re trained to find out why it’s someone’s fault.

It’s because it’s hard to admit the truth to yourself all the time, particularly about something you’re not proud of or embarrassed about. I absolutely never like to think of myself making mistakes, personally. It’s a fact of life. Pride is an ego-driven feeling, and so “damaging” pride shouldn’t be something to avoid, as pride is something we don’t need (it’s mixed up with self-confidence quite a bit).

It’s starts with having patience and acceptance with yourself and others. I’m not only talking about admitting your mistakes to others, but far more importantly is admitting your own mistakes with yourself. If you don’t think it, don’t believe it, then it doesn’t matter. If you can gain the consciousness to stop this cycle, this direct/indirect avoidance of one’s own mistakes, you will look at things differently.

Your whole world will change, you will change. You’ll become a more honest person, a more grounded person, more in-tune with yourself. Because suddenly there’s nothing to hide from anyone. Also, admitting one’s own mistakes will take away the pressure of always performing successfully. We’re human, and mistakes are what make us who we are.

To be honest, I’ve never quite realized this before today, or at least as much as I have before. But I see now that it’s all about rising up, noticing what you’re doing, and changing it. More on this next time.

–mrprose

4 thoughts on “Admitting Your Mistakes

  1. Admitting your mistakes is essential, we cannot all be perfect and cannot blame others for them too. Once people realise that it is easier to live with them. I know I make mistakes and I totally admit them openly. I am only human and they happen. When others notice it they start admitting their mistakes as well. Also it feels much better to admit you messed something up, it is done and dusted and you can work on a solution or just get on with your life and leave the mistake in the past.
    It is good to just write a blog for the enjoyment of yourself and others, that is the sole purpose of mine, and I am not even a good writer, still I might cheer people up or make them think. Thank you for your posts I do like them!

    • Thank you for reading! Yes I completely agree with your view, and if you read all of my piece, you’ll see that I said many similar things. The purpose of the post was simply to open people’s eyes a bit on the matter. I thought that it was important to do that because I thought I understood this already, but there was still more for me to understand. Also, the mistakes I’m referring to are the embarrassing ones, the ones that are far harder to swallow.

      By the way, I enjoy your blog too. It’s simple, sweet, colorful and positive. Brilliant!

  2. Wow your first paragrah is exactly why I started my blog. I just want to write about what I want to write about when I want to write about it. I hope the readers of my blog will find motivation, inspiration, humor and honesty. Keep up the good work. Writers Rock!!

Leave a comment